To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax – Sue MacLeod

Posté le Feb 27, 2012

To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax – Sue MacLeod

Finaliste 2006

Créateur: Sue MacLeod

Proposante: Andrew Terris

Sue MacLeod a publié deux recueils de  poésie: Singing You Hear at the Edges et The Language of Rain.

Ses poèmes ont été publiés dans des journaux et des compilations un peu  partout au pays, en plus d’être diffusés sur le réseau régional et national de  CBC.

Elle a été invitée à lire ses poèmes dans neuf provinces au Canada,  entres autres au Ship Inn de Saint-Jean à Terre-Neuve, au Festival of Words de Moose Jaw, et à la bibliothèque municipale de  Vancouver au coin des rues Hastings et Main.

Sue a grandi à Toronto, mais habite la Nouvelle-Écosse depuis son  adolescence et réside présentement à Halifax. En tant que membre de la  communauté littéraire, elle a été nommée sur le conseil d’administration de la Writer’s Federation of Nova Scotia, elle a  enseigné la poésie au centre Tatamagouche et partagé ses connaissances avec des  élèves de tous les âges par l’entremise du programme Writers in the Schools.

De 2001 à 2005, elle a été sélectionnée comme poétesse officielle de la Municipalité  régionale de Halifax et c’est en remplissant ce rôle  qu’elle a écrit et publié l’œuvre To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax.

Cette anthologie de mots et d’images combinés dans un petit livre présente la ville de Halifax comme un endroit chaleureux, humain et terre à terre. Ce mélange de mots et de photos inspire le lecteur à vouloir s’impliquer et à parvenir à ses propres conclusions.

La collection trace un portrait diversifié de classes, d’âges et de cultures et va bien au-delà des images stéréotypées qui existent à propos de Halifax.

To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax – Sue MacLeod

Posted on Feb 27, 2012

To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax – Sue MacLeod

2006 Finalist

Creator: Sue MacLeod

Nominator: Andrew Terris

Sue MacLeod has published two books of poetry, That Singing You Hear at the Edges and The Language of Rain.

Her poems have also appeared in journals and anthologies across the country and been broadcast on regional and national CBC.

She has been invited to read from her work in nine of Canada’s provinces, at venues ranging from the Ship Inn in St. John’s, to the Festival of Words in Moose Jaw, to Vancouver’s inner-city library at the corner of Hastings and Main.

Sue grew up in Toronto, but has lived in Nova Scotia since her teens and currently makes her home in downtown Halifax. As part of the writing community, she has served on the Board of the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia, taught poetry at The Tatamagouche Centre, and to students of all ages through the Writers in the Schools program.

From 2001-5, she was HRM’s inaugural Poet Laureate, and in that role she conceived of and edited To Find Us: Words and Images of Halifax.

Jury Comments: This anthology of words and images combined in a small compact book presents the city of Halifax as a warm, human and very real place. The combinations of words and photos inspire readers to become involved and create their own associations and conclusions.

The collection is diverse in class, age and culture and goes well beyond the stereotypical image of the city of Halifax.