Winner of the 2021 Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia Masterworks Arts Award

Photo: Gaspereau Press

“Lagomorph” is a short story written by Alexander MacLeod about the relationship between a man and the family pet, a rabbit named Gunther. “Lagomorph” was first published in 2017 by the online journal Granta, based in London, England, in an edition focusing on writing from Canada. The story subsequently won the O. Henry Prize, arguably the world’s most prestigious award for short fiction, and appeared in The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (Vintage Anchor Publishing, 2019). In 2020, Andrew Steeves of Gaspereau Press published a book version, Lagomorph, an exquisite, hand-printed, hand-stitched, and hand-bound letterpress book in an edition of 80. The book includes an original wood engraving by Wesley Bates and is wrapped in hand-printed kraft-paper, presented like a precious gift.

From the 2021 Masterworks jury:

Lagomorph is exemplary in its quality and masterful artisanship, inside and out. The work stays with you long after you put it down.”

Marilyn Smulders is the executive director of the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia, a job she has held since November 2017. Previous employment includes working as the Communications Director at NSCAD University (Nova Scotia College of Art and Design) and as a reporter and editor at the Halifax Daily News. She has a Bachelor of Journalism from Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario, and a Bachelor of Fine Art from NSCAD University. She is also a textile artist who works in the medium of quilt making.

About the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia is a non-profit, charitable organization serving and advocating for Nova Scotia’s writers. With the motto of “writers helping writers,” the WFNS administers the Writers in the Schools program, a mentorship program, a competition for  unpublished  manuscripts, five literary awards, as well as an array of writing workshops and professional development sessions for writers. The WFNS has an annual membership of approximately 600 writers.